Uber’s Car Seat Policies – What Parents Should Know Before Ride-Sharing

Even though services like Uber have gone mainstream, many parents still have questions about ride-sharing with their kiddos. Indeed, one of the most common concerns parents have is whether Uber drivers carry car seats in their vehicles.      Although Uber requires passengers to use age-appropriate car seats for children, there’s no guarantee a driver […]

Do Seat Belt Laws Legislate Personal Behavior and Do They Save Lives?

When New York enacted the country’s first seat belt law in 1984, it sparked a national debate about the government’s role in personal safety. Personal freedom advocates saw seat belt laws as an encroachment on their ability to make choices. Such laws used the coercive power of law enforcement and the judiciary to make people choose […]

Should Car Seats Always go in the Rear Seat? Seat Back Danger

For decades we’ve all heard that the rear seat of a vehicle is the best place for a car seat. And, in most cases, this is true. There are however, some vehicles which have rear seats which can collapse and injure or kill a child in the rear seat. It’s terrifying, but more than one […]

Can I travel across state lines with my car seat?

We are constantly receiving questions about traveling with children and the car seat laws from state to state and country to country. For example, this week someone from the UK asked us if their Trunki BoostApak child booster seats were acceptable in California. In this case, we just didn’t know. We do know that the […]

When Can My Child go To a Forward Facing Car Seat in Oregon?

According to Oregon State Law, children must ride in rear-facing car seats until the age of 2. It wasn’t always this way, Oregon’s children used to graduate to forward facing car seats up until May 26, 2017, when House Bill 3404 became law. Click here for a list of the top rated rar-facing car seats. […]

Ages for Rear Facing Car Seats in Oregon – House Bill 3404

On May 25, 2017, Oregon Governor Kate Brown signed House Bill 3404 into law. Effective May 26, 2017, children must ride in rear-facing car seats until the age of 2. Infants are significantly safer in a rear facing car seat until 2 years of age. A good idea? Research and studies show that babies are […]

New 2018 California Seat Belt Law for Buses

Beginning July 1, 2018, California Law requires a passenger on a bus equipped with seat belts to be properly restrained by a safety belt. This law also requires children who are at least 8 years of age but under 16 years of age to be properly restrained by a safety belt or an appropriate child […]

Is my Car Seat from Italy Legal in California?

Today someone asked us: “Hello, I live in Italy and will be coming to California in January with our newborn of 2.5 months. We wondered i the car seat we have here is ok to use in California? It’s a cybex iris m air. We are planning to travel with carseat and stroller frame and […]

When can my child sit in a booster seat in California?

In California, a child is ready for a booster seat when they have outgrown the weight or height limit of their forward-facing harnesses, which is typically between 40 and 65 pounds, depending on the seat’s specifications. Source: California Highway Patrol. In California, children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat […]

When can I put my child in a booster seat in Washington State?

In the State of Washington, children can move to a booster seat when they reach the top height or weight limit allowed by your forward facing car seat’s manufacturer. Additionally, all children under the age of 13 must be securely fastened in the car’s back seat. No person may operate a motor vehicle unless all […]