In California, a child is ready for a booster seat when they have outgrown the weight or height limit of their forward-facing harnesses, which is typically between 40 and 65 pounds, depending on the seat’s specifications.
Source: California Highway Patrol.
In California, children under the age of 8 must be secured in a car seat or booster seat in the back seat.
For additional information, please see California car seat laws.
1 thought on “When can my child sit in a booster seat in California?”
We are travelling to California soon and will be renting a car for the duration of our trip. We have two young children (details below) and would like to know if it is ok to use Trunki BoostApak child booster seats for them during our stay. Are these recognised and allowed for use in the State of California?
According to the manufacturer, these booster seats are designed for children from age of 4 and weighing at least 33 pounds. (https://www.trunki.co.uk/collections/boostapak)
Our two children’s details are as follows
1) 4.5 years, 41 pounds, 42 inches tall
2) 6.5 years, 48 pounds, 49 inches tall
Thank you for your valued response