According to Utah’s Car Seat Laws, children under 13 years old should sit in the rear seat. If your child is under 13 years and must sit in a front seat with a passenger-side air bag, properly restrain your child and move the vehicle seat back as far as possible.
Children must be in an appropriate child safety restraint until they can pass “The Seat Belt Fit Test”. Most children can sit in a seat belt after they are 4’9″ tall, depending on the vehicle. Children are usually 8 – 10 years old when they reach this height.
According to the CDC, vehicular accidents are the leading cause of injury and death in children aged 12 and younger, and 59% of car seats and 20% of booster seats are used incorrectly.
Failure to use the correct car seat in Utah can result in a fine of $45.