According to Oregon state law, child passengers must be restrained in either a car seat or a booster seat suitable for their age and height. Children must remain in these seats until they are 4’9″ tall or 8 years old and the adult belt fits properly.
Oregon Car Seat Laws
- Infants must ride rear-facing until they reach two years of age. (On May 26, 2017, Oregon law changed to state that infants must ride in rear-facing car seats until the age of 2. Infants are significantly safer in a rear facing car seat until 2 years of age).
- A child who weighs 40 pounds or less must be properly secured with a child safety system that meets the minimum standards and specifications established by the Department of Transportation.
- Children over forty pounds or who have reached the upper weight limit for their forward-facing car seat must use a child seat with harness or a booster seat until they are 4’9″ tall or 8 years old and the adult belt fits properly.
- Check out 2018’s top rated rear-facing car seats here.
- Oregon Department of Transportation’s page on safety belts.
- OregonImpact.org / Child Protective Services will work with parents to train them on how to install a car seat.
- Oregon Law 815.055 -Rules establishing standards for safety belts, harnesses and child safety systems
- NHTSA’s page to find a free car seat safety checkpoint near you, often available at nearby fire departments and children’s hospitals: NHTSA Car Seat Inspection